The Churches of the Holy Land

There are thirteen traditional Churches that are recognized by the civil authorities. They differ in traditions and rites.

Three of the Churches have Patriarchs who reside in Jerusalem:

– The Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Jerusalem – the community is made up of a vast majority of Arabic speaking faithful and a largely Greek hierarchy. The Church has many churches, monasteries and institutions throughout the Holy Land.

– The Latin Patriarchate of Jerusalem (Roman Catholic) – established first during the Crusader period, the Patriarchate was reestablished in 1847 and maintains a very important institutional presence through its many schools, hospitals and other institutions.

– The Armenian Patriarchate of Jerusalem – based in the Holy Land since the first centuries, the Armenian presence grew during the Ottoman period. Many Armenians found refuge in the Holy Land after the massacres in Turkey in the first part of the 20th century.

The others Churches are:

– The Greek (Melkite) Catholic Church – which maintains three dioceses in the Holy Land, in Galilee, in Jerusalem and in Jordan. Many Greek Catholics found refuge in Galilee when the Church was established in the 18th century.

– The Maronite Church – with its center in Lebanon, the Maronites in the Holy Land are largely resident in the north of Israel.

– The Syrian Orthodox Church – which has an important presence in Jerusalem and Bethlehem.

– The Syrian Catholic Church

– The Coptic Orthodox Church

– The Ethiopian Orthodox Church

– The Armenian Catholic Church

– The Chaldean Church

– The Anglican Church

– The Lutheran Church.