The Holy Land – what are the borders of the Holy Land?

The term “Holy Land” is based upon the Bible (cf. Zachariah 2:16). It refers to the land in which God revealed himself to the patriarchs (Abraham, Isaac and Jacob), prophets and holy men and women in the history of the children of Israel and the early Church. The Holy Land is the land in which Jesus Christ was born, lived, died and rose from the dead. It is the land in which the Church was born and from which the Gospel began to preached.

From earliest times, Christians have come to this land in order to pray at the places that are connected with the history of salvation, God’s interaction with human beings. Pilgrimage brings millions of Christians to this land each year as they walk in the footsteps of Christ.

The borders of the Holy Land are not strictly defined. For many, the Holy Land includes at least the territories of Israel and Palestine and can include Jordan too as well as Lebanon, Syria and Egypt as important Biblical events happened in these lands also and there too Jesus walked during his earthly life.